Powered by Oracle® RightNow

Provider Specialty Codes

All physicians, practitioners, and other suppliers who provide services to Medicare beneficiaries must enroll in the Medicare program before claims can be submitted. At the time of enrollment, Medicare assigns a two-digit specialty code that corresponds to the specialty type declared by the applicant on the enrollment form. The specialties listed below are the only specialties currently recognized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) for purposes of enrollment in the Medicare program by Part B Medicare carriers.

Physician Specialty Codes

01 General Practice   36 Nuclear Medicine
02 General Surgery   37 Pediatric Medicine
03 Allergy/Immunology   38 Geriatric Medicine
04 Otolaryngology   39 Nephrology
05 Anesthesiology   40 Hand Surgery
06 Cardiology   41 Optometry
07 Dermatology   44 Infectious Disease
08 Family Practice   46 Endocrinology
09 Interventional Pain Management   48 Podiatry
10 Gastroenterology   66 Rheumatology
11 Internal Medicine   72 Pain Management
12 Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine   76 Peripheral Vascular Disease
13 Neurology   77 Vascular Surgery
14 Neurosurgery   78 Cardiac Surgery
16 Obstetrics/Gynecology   79 Addiction Medicine
17 Hospice and Pallative Care   81 Critical Care (Intensivists)
18 Ophthalmology   82 Hematology
19 Oral Surgery (dentists only)   83 Hematology/Oncology
20 Orthopedic Surgery   84 Preventive Medicine
21 Cardiac Electrophysiology   85 Maxillofacial Surgery
22 Pathology   86 Neuropsychiatry
23 Sports Medicine   88 Unknown Provider
24 Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery   90 Medical Oncology
25 Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation   91 Surgical Oncology
26 Psychiatry   92 Radiation Oncology
27 Geriatric Psychiatry   93 Emergency Medicine
28 Colorectal Surgery   94 Interventional Radiology
29 Pulmonary Disease   98 Gynecological/Oncology
30 Diagnostic Radiology   99 Unknown Physician Specialty
33 Thoracic Surgery   C0 Sleep Medicine
34 Urology   C3 Interventional Cardiology
35 Chiropractic   C5 Dentist

Supplier and Non-Physician Practitioner Codes

15 Speech Language Pathologist in Private Practice   67 Occupational Therapist in Private Practice
31 Intensive Cardiac Rehabilitation   68 Clinical Psychologist
32 Anesthesiologist Assistant   69 Independent Clinical Laboratory
42 Certified Nurse Midwife   70 Clinic/Group Practice
43 Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA)   71 Registered Dietitian/Nutrition Professional
45 Mammography Screening Center   73 Mass Immunization Roster Biller
47 Independent Diagnostic Testing Facility (IDTF)   74 Radiation Therapy Centers
49 Ambulatory Surgical Center   80 Clinical Social Worker
50 Nurse Practitioner   87 Pharmacy
59 Ambulance Service Supplier   89 Clinical Nurse Specialist
62 Psychologist (billing independently)   95 Unknown Supplier
63 Portable X-ray Supplier (billing independently)   97 Physician Assistant
64 Portable X-ray Supplier (billing independently)   C1 Centralized FLU
65 Portable X-ray Supplier (billing independently)  C2 Indirect Payment Procedure - IPP Biller
      C4 Restricted Use (CMS authorized only)

Primary/Secondary Specialty Codes

Physicians may designate only one primary specialty but may designate multiple secondary specialties on the CMS 855I enrollment form. Non-physician practitioners who want to enroll as more than one non-physician specialty type must submit a separate CMS-855I enrollment form for each specialty.

Changes in Specialty Codes

Physicians should monitor their specialty status to ensure that they are enrolled in the specialty type that most accurately represents their practice. This is particularly important as physicians change the focus of their practice and become more specialized. Failure to notify Medicare of specialty changes can affect reimbursement. Use form CMS 855I to report specialty changes.